Weekly Check-In: Typical Daytime Eating

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you had a great start to your week. Mine started with a weigh-in. The verdict? I’ve lost another 1.4 pounds. 🙂 This feels right on track to me … a healthy amount of weight to lose in one week.

Oh, and seeing as today is President’s Day, it was supposed to be the last day of my Presidential Challenge. Although I didn’t lose the 10 pounds I had hoped for, (I had some trouble getting motivated) I am still really happy with what came as a result of this challenge.

I am really starting to have a more healthy mindset when it comes to eating. I think I am finally approaching my goal of that 80-20% mentality of healthy eating. Don’t get me wrong, I still slip up and overeat (see Friday night’s post for an example), but for the most part, things have been better.

I’ve been kicking butt with my workouts as well, but I have come to realize that it is true: You can out-exercise a bad diet. So this week, I thought I would give some insight into some typical meals and snacks for me, in case you are looking for EASY ideas. Remember, I am still learning to cook, so most of these require little to no actual cooking. 🙂

Breakfast:

  • Overnight Oats (They usually include old-fashioned oats, almond milk, Greek yogurt,  chia seeds, protein powder, and a sliced banana)
  • Whole-wheat bagel thin (with low-fat cream cheese and sugar-free strawberry preserves, deli turkey and light cheese, or peanut butter and banana)
  • Egg-white, turkey, and Laughing Cow cheese on a whole-wheat bagel thin
  • Protein pancakes (Oatmeal, egg, egg white, Greek yogurt or cottage cheese)

PBFinger's Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

Morning Snack:
  • Chobani Greek yogurt with Bare Naked Fit granola
  • Apple with peanut butter
Lunch:
  • Giant salad with tons of veggies, protein (chicken breast pre-cooked in the crock pot, deli turkey, or canned tuna), and fat-free italian dressing
  • Whole-wheat pasta (or spaghetti squash), protein (chicken breast or chicken sausage), veggies, and marinara sauce

Spaghetti squash, chicken, red peppers, and garden vegetable marinara sauce

  • Turkey or chicken sandwich on whole-wheat Healthy Life bread (with Laughing Cow cheese, avocado, and veggies)
  • Scrambled egg/egg-whites with spinach, tomatoes, and peppers (Ok, I haven’t actually made this yet, but I really want to try it soon with some salsa on top)
Afternoon Snack:
  • Almonds and Craisins
  • String cheese, apple sauce, and a clementine
  • Veggies and hummus

What are your favorite quick and easy healthy meals and snacks? I need some ideas!

P.S. I pre-wrote most of this post on Sunday, and happened to be snacking on one of the new Apple Cinnamon Chobani Greek yogurts … HOLY YUM!

P.P.S. I got my very first jar of PB2 in the mail this weekend, and I am already obsessed! If you have some, try making this. If you don’t have some, get some!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Weekly Check-In: Typical Daytime Eating

  1. Jessica says:

    Hey there Katie.

    I just happened to stumble upon your blog, and thought I’d introduce myself 🙂

    Hope you are having a great start to your week.

    I thought you might like to check out my blog as well- I talk about fitness a lot!
    I also have a Best Shape of My Life Challenge going on, if you want some motivation and support on your own fitness goals!

    Hope to chat with you more!

    XO, Jessica

Leave a comment