Strength Training Challenge

So, I’ve been sick this week. It started as a sore throat on Sunday. As in, I felt like I was swallowing a razor blade. On Monday, I just felt crappy, so I thought I would try to “sweat it out” with a 20 minute run/walk before work. Well obviously that didn’t work too well, because I felt even worse on Tuesday. I kinda felt like I was on an airplane, and then the pressure in my head got worse and worse. Ear infection? Turns out I didn’t have one, but it sure felt like it. Then, it turned into more of a head cold. And now, I’m in the nasty cough phase of the illness. Yipee.

Anywho, I haven’t worked out since Monday. Shame on me. I’m just not really one of those people who is motivated to workout through an illness. Heck, I have enough trouble motivating myself to workout when I’m not sick, let alone when I am. Lately, however, even when I do get a workout in, one thing is majorly lacking from my fitness routine: strength training.

I’ve been taking spin classes, hip hop classes, and even running and walking on the treadmill from time to time. But by the time I’m finished with my cardio, I’m either: 1) in a rush to get somewhere or 2) too lazy to lift some weights. However, I am not oblivious to the benefits of strength training, and I know that I need it back in my life pronto. Between being sick and laying off the weights, I am feeling seriously weak lately.

So, I was psyched when I read on Kimberly’s blog that she is taking on a fitness challenge where she commits to some sort of strength routine twice a week in the month of November. Even better, she invited all of us to do it with her!

I decided that I am totally on board. My plan is to do one of the following at least twice a week:

  1. Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred (Granted, I can’t walk normally or sit on the toilet comfortably for days after starting this up again. Last semester, one of my teachers at school actually asked me if I hurt myself, and I had to tell her that the reason that I was limping was just because I was just sore from working out.)
  2. A Total Bodyworks class at my gym
  3. 30-minutes of strength training on my own (When I joined my gym, I received two free sessions with a personal trainer and she set me up with two personalized strength training workouts. Now if only I could remember how they go …

Are you in, too? I’d also like to find a place for yoga in my life again. I just started doing it this summer, but it makes me feel so limber and really stretches me out when I am feeling suicidal from the aforementioned strength training. 

Let’s call these my two fitness goals for the month of November. Oh, and to make it to the gym on Thanksgiving, so I can feel less guilty about my stuffing my face with copious amounts of my mother-in-law’s amazing mashed potatoes and sampling a normal-sized serving of every single dessert. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

