Inquiring Minds Want to Know

Ok, so I am not so good at blogging regularly. But there has been a lot going on in my life. What, you ask? Well, let me fill you in:

1. I scored a student teaching internship for next semester. This is big time, people. First, I had to be selected by my college as a potential intern. Then, I had to interview and be chosen as an intern candidate. Then, I had to look through the packet of available internships, decide which ones I was interested in, call around, and attend interviews. Okay, this is kind of a lie. I only made it to one interview, because I was offered the position within a half-hour of walking out the door. I bet you’re wondering: How is interning any different than student teaching? Well, it’s pays (not megabucks, but a stipend that certainly beats the $0 that I would make student teaching), and it means that I will have significantly more responsibility in the classroom from the get go. I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t a little nervous, but mostly I am excited to finally be set free, take risks, make mistakes, and improve my teaching practice.

2. I bought our first Christmas tree. On sale for $30 at Target. It’s not the most extraordinary tree, but it works for us. I kind of love it.

3. I’ve had a couple of bizarre health issues over the past month or so. A random rash on my left arm that led to the dermatologist, who decided to slice off a mole on the right bicep and test it. The results came back, and the mole is benign, but the derm doesn’t like the way it looks, so he wants to remove the skin around it and stitch it up. Easy peasy, right? I sure hope so, because I don’t like the sound of it. I also noticed a bump behind my right ear on Thanksgiving, which the doctor thinks is a cyst. She gave me antibiotics which seem to have made it smaller, but it’s still there, so I’m not sure what my next step will be.

4. We got a new fridge and range. Aren’t they beautiful? But even more importantly, they are safe. Our old stove kind of scared the crap out of me, for lack of better words. I can honestly say that it was holding me back from learning how to cook, because since we got our new one two days ago, I have baked cookies and brownies, and …

5. I cooked salmon for dinner tonight. All of you normal people out there are probably rolling your eyes at me right now, but the truth is, I don’t didn’t use to cook. However, now that I can safely say that the house won’t burn down when I turn on the oven, I’m feeling inspired. I looked up some recipes on Cooking Light and plan to keep on truckin’. I think the boyfriend may have been scared to try my cooking, but he seemed to like the salmon … even though he put ketchup on it. (Who does that?) I really enjoyed it myself. It was moist and had good flavor … I put dill on it. It actually tasted better than some fish that I’ve had in restaurants. I never thought that I would say that about my own cooking. I can’t wait to keep experimenting and learn new things.

Well, that’s it for now. I will leave you with one job: make black bean brownies. They taste the same as regular brownies, but are healthier! If you haven’t heard of this yet, here’s the lowdown: Use a box mix and a can of black beans, instead of the other ingredients that the box calls for. Drain the beans and blend them with some water before adding them to the mix. Then bake according to the directions on the box.

You can thank me later. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

