What I Ate Wednesday

Ok, I know I said that this isn’t a blog where I will talk daily about what I ate for every meal and how much I worked out. And it absolutely isn’t But that doesn’t mean that I won’t occasionally share these things, because healthy eating and fitness are undoubtedly the cornerstones of weight loss, weight maintenance, and an overall healthy lifestyle.

On that note, I thought you might be interested in what a day of solid eating looks like in my life. Now, please note, I’m not this successful at making healthy choices everyday. I make mistakes – I overdose on chocolate, I “accidentally” use full-fat ranch, I have trouble resisting the cupcakes in the back room at work – you get the picture. And despite my disgust with myself, I binge sometimes.

But yesterday, I managed to make fairly healthy choices. And since it’s Wednesday, I thought that I might partake in a little What I Ate Wednesday action.

My first attempt at overnight oats. I followed Julie at Peanut Butter Finger’s recipe and mixed 2/3 cup instant oatmeal (it’s all that we had, because I haven’t been the biggest fan of oatmeal in the past), one 6 ounce container of Chobani Greek yogurt (the honey flavor), 1/2 cup almond milk (unsweetened original), and 2 tablespoons of chia seeds. I let the mixture sit in the fridge overnight. This morning, it was super thick, so I added some more milk. I also added a spoonful of peanut butter, a little bit of honey for sweetness, some granola for crunch, and a banana. I would be lying if I said that I loved it, but I didn’t hate it. I am really trying to let oatmeal grow on me, because I know that it’s a healthy breakfast with good staying power. I only ended up eating about half of the oats, so I think that I might prepare a little bit less in the future.

Mid-morning, I snacked on a clementine.

During my lunch break, I headed to a nearby coffee shop to use my laptop. Since I don’t drink coffee, I opted for a mango smoothie.

I also enjoyed a small salad that I had prepared, which included romaine lettuce, tomatoes, shredded chicken (prepared in the crock pot earlier this week), and Trader Joe’s low-fat parmesan ranch dressing.

When I got home from work, I was hungry, so I enjoyed another clementine. I also had some (probably too much) of a random “trail mix” that I assembled last night when I was hungry. The mix really lacked any healthy ingredients. I think it was composed of cheerios, mini-marshmellows, mini-graham crackers, and dark chocolate chips. However, it did hit the spot and provided some nice carby energy for my hour-long hip-hop workout.

Finally, I failed to pull anything out for dinner tonight, so the boyfriend and I agreed on Qdoba, which I picked up on the way home from the gym. I had a naked chicken taco salad with black beans, salsa, and guacamole on the side for some healthy fat.

The “WW Katie” (this is what I refer to myself when I was losing weight on the Weight Watcher’s program) would have never considered eating healthy fat, like avocados, because they had too much points (calories and fat, essentially). However, since then, I have learned the importance of foods like these in my diet and would rather be “healthier” than focus on losing weight quickly.

How many calories did I eat today? Your guess is as good as mine. Obviously, I could do some work, make some estimations, and figure it out, but I really don’t care. I’m doing my best to say goodbye to my crazy point- and calorie-counting days and just focus on eating well-rounded meals, controlling my portions, and hopefully keeping my intake low enough that I can eventually get to my goal weight.

What are your go-to meals for weight loss and/or maintenance? 

P.S. I just realized that I essentially ate a chicken salad for both lunch and dinner, but for some reason that really doesn’t bother me. I’m a big fan of chicken and salad, and each meal had a different “feel,” if you know what I mean.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Ate Wednesday

  1. On cold winter days, I love oatmeal mixed with a TBL or so of half n half and about a TBL of brown sugar. It’s so comforting/warming. And clementines are one of the best snacks in the world! Your chicken salad from Qdoba looks verrrry tasty. 🙂

  2. katieforlife says:

    Ooh, I’ll have to keep those additions in mind for my oatmeal! And I agree! I could eat clementines all day long … they are so easy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

