Guilt

Guess what? I just went out to dinner with some good friends from college that are also student teaching this semester. And our brand new friends from the UK.

It was an absolute blast.

I ate chips, salsa, and guacamole. I ate a couple of chicken tenders. I ate a quarter of a quesadilla. I ate some french fries. And I drank four beers.

And now I feel guilty. Unbelievably guilty.

I miss the days when I could eat without worrying about every single calorie that I put into my mouth. Before I go out to eat, I always have good intentions of ordering something healthy. But often, I get caught in the moment. I want to eat what I love at that restaurant, not what is most health-concious. I want to enjoy the same food and drink that my friends are enjoying.

Unfortunately, we aren’t all born with the same body. I have many friends who can eat what they want, exercise rarely, and remain thin. This is not the case for me. And you know what? It sucks.

I will wake up in the morning and move on with my life. I’ll work out and do my best to resume healthy eating tomorrow. But it doesn’t change the way that I feel now. And I wish that I could rid myself of this emotionally unstable relationship with food.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guilt

  1. Nicole says:

    This was me tonight also. I had all of my calories accounted for for the day and was feeling pretty good then boom! I Stopped and grabbed a hot chocolate on the way home and ate a slice of left over pizza that my husband and kids left. Thank you for sharing this it reminded me that I am not alone in this struggle and that tomorrow is a new day to be a better me.

    • katieforlife says:

      Nicole, I am so with you. I wish I could say that I had the answer for how to make things better when we’re feeling down about stuff like this, but my best advice is that tomorrow is a new day. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Hi, Katie,
    Long time reader here! I just tagged you in blog tag! Woot!

  3. Pingback: Simple Swaps | Katie for Life

Leave a Reply

