Look Good, Feel Good

Today, I caved. I decided to head to the store and pick up a couple of pairs of new pants. Not because I’m giving up the fight. I still intend to lose some weight so I can be as healthy as possible.

What I don’t want, however, is to constantly feel bad about myself. And when your clothes don’t fit, it’s hard not to. One of my goals for 2012 is to cut the negative self-talk from my life, and, in my opinion, when you look good, you feel good. By spending a few extra dollars on some dress pants (that will hopefully eventually be too big), I can feel more confident about myself right now. It is my hope that this confidence will help to drive me to eat healthier, go the gym, and take other steps to keep myself healthy and fit.

When I got home from shopping, I decided to put together a few outfits for the week … which ending up being about three weeks worth of outfits :). I have come to the conclusion that I should be all set for the semester, or at least until the weather warms up significantly. And  by that time, maybe I’ll be back to my post-weight-loss size.

Another small victory to report: when Brad decided that he was craving Culver’s for dinner, I opted to check out their Mindful Choices menu online and asked him to order me a grilled chicken sandwich and side salad, in place of my favorite chicken tenders and fries.

Although I wasn’t an angel all week, and I’m not even sure that I lost any weight (update tomorrow!), I am truly starting to feel more fit overall from my regular workouts this year. And that, my friends, is a step in the right direction.

Off to start reading Intuitive Eating in bed … goodnight!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Look Good, Feel Good

  1. Gillian says:

    Katie, I think you made a good decision to buy some clothes now. I had the same problem when I was losing weight – do I spend money now or wait until I get to my goal. I finally bought a few things but then felt really limited by my wardrobe. You can always get the pants taken in later or give them to Goodwill where someone else will get a lot of use out of them.

  2. Liz says:

    Great post! I’ve been in the same situation. I went and got new clothes as well. But I never thought about it the way you put it. You are exactly right. Feeling good about yourself, I think, is a good motivator for becoming healthier. Feeling down on yourself just makes it all worse.

Leave a Reply

