Weekly Check-In

I can’t report a loss this week, although I didn’t really expect to. I am truly not in the mindset for weight loss at this exact point in my life, and I have come to accept that for now. Before I can lose more weight, I need to stabilize my relationship with food, which I know will not happen overnight. For now, I want to focus on what’s working and what’s not working and work to move forwards and not backwards on my path to healthy living.

What’s Working?

Planning: By planning my workouts in advance and packing a lunch for work, I am setting myself up for success. Although my workouts sometimes change and I don’t always limit myself to the healthy foods in the lunchbox (see below), it is a step in the right direction.

Finding Inspiration: I really enjoy reading blogs and browsing Twitter and Pinterest for inspiring material. It really helps to keep me doing on days that I would rather consume an entire batch of chocolate chips cookies on the couch than work out and eat my fruits and vegetables.

What’s Not Working?

Temptation: Temptation is everywhere. Last Monday, on the first day of my internship, we had an inservice. Since we were out of the building, we went out to lunch. And of course, we went to a frozen custard place. I tried to play it cool and order a grilled chicken sandwich with no fries, but one of my new colleagues bought me a dish of frozen custard as a “welcoming” gesture. Later in the week, there were pumpkin chocolate chip muffins in the teacher’s lounge. And on Friday, a teacher brought in the most delicious buffalo chicken dip for her birthday. There was also cheesecake. Then, my “mother-in-law” offered me some extra cookie dough from a fundraiser, which I proceeded to bake … and eat. I really need to develop some tools for dealing with temptation like this. I also struggle a lot with moderation.

Motivation: Although I have my workouts planned in advance, I still struggle with peeling myself off of the couch after an early morning and a full day of work.  For example, this week my trip to Thursday spin class never happened, because I was exhausted lazy. I did manage four workouts this week, which aligns with my goals for 2012, but the more activity the better, especially for weight loss.

My Toxic Relationship With Food: Overall, I have really come to find that my relationship with food is not healthy. I recently began reading a book on Intuitive Eating. Although I’ve heard of this concept before, I know little about it and am looking forward to learning more.

How was your week? Fill me in on the highs and lows. What is working and not working for you?

Have you heard of intuitive eating? What do you know about it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Check-In

  1. Pingback: Weekly Check-In: Typical Daytime Eating | Katie for Life

  2. Girlfriend I feel you 100% on this one. Temptation is totally there and to be honest, it downright sucks. Just when you think you are having a great day of healthy eating, someone comes along and offers you something that you just CAN’T turn down. I struggle really bad with my relationship with food. 97% of the time I eat healthy but that other 3% is a killer. I view food as the enemy and it becomes an emotional struggle.

    Keep at it! Proud of you and all your goals.

  3. katieforlife says:

    Thanks for the support! I’ve been doing a lot better lately. I am also proud of you! It sounds like you are rocking as a rower! Keep up the great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

