Old Habits

I am writing because I need help – words of encouragement, a kick in the butt … something. I am regressing back into old habits of eating poorly and not working out as much, or as hard, as I should. I only have myself to blame, so I won’t even try to make excuses, but here two of the major reasons why:

There are unhealthy temptations surrounding me constantly at work. I know that I should have the power to say no, but frankly, I don’t. I’m talking donuts and cookies at staff meetings, chili cheese dip and cake as Friday treats, leftover puppy chow and tortilla roll-ups in the teacher’s lounge, and candy (that I bought for my students) at my desk. I pack a healthy breakfast and lunch daily, but then essentially cancel out my good intentions by eating this junk. How do you gain the willpower to turn tempting treats down?

I have a new puppy, and I already feel guilty for crating him all day long, so I have trouble tearing myself away from him at night to workout. And I thought falling in love with Brad made me gain weight. Now I am in puppy love. I mean, how can you can not adore a face like this …

I have been keeping somewhat active on daily walks with my little family and getting in a short workout here and there when I can. I’m currently participating in Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, and I know that I have to stay active and meet my goals in order to be eligible for the sweet prizes, but this week, I couldn’t even manage to earn all of my entries. Plus, as awesome as some of the prizes are (and I’m talking awesome), I really wish I could be motivated by the face that I owe it to myself to be as healthy as possible. I have some awesome workouts staring me in the face – and I know they are awesome because I have done some of them and my fellow participants are raving about them –  so why I am having so much trouble getting my act together?

I turned to my new favorite source for inspiration, Pinterest, for some motivational mantras:

But as great as they are, I’d still love to hear what you all do when you feel like your healthy living routine is lacking? Please tell me that I’m not the only one that this happens to? I hope you’re having a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old Habits

  1. Katie! Guess what? IT IS OKAY. Promise. Life takes over sometimes and it is okay! Treating yourself every now and then isn’t the end of the world and if you miss a workout then the world won’t stop. Slipping back into old habits can sometimes be so easy but that’s why we live a lifestyle and not a fad.

    Keep your sweet head up and keep up all your work. Just look at how far you have come. I’m so proud of you!

  2. katieforlife says:

    Thanks Kels, I really, really appreciate it! 🙂

  3. We all go through periods like this. I know I do with eating sweets, but then I tell myself to stop and I gain the willpower to walk away. At work, it helps to tell co-workers that you want to eat healthy and that if treats are shared, there should be a challenge to make healthy treats or other dishes. For example, we’re having a dessert party at work tomorrow. Rather than bring cookies, I’m bringing coconut chocolate milk. I will eat dessert, but only little pieces and then I’ll drink the chocolate milk I bring and it will satisfy my chocolate craving.

    You can do it! I think this is a very transitional time of year for so many people. I know I am going through this sort of feeling with my job and I needed some motivation from my husband to find a solution. It took some tearful talks, but the tough love was what I needed.

    Go to the gym and tell yourself that your cute puppy will be happier with having a healthy mama to kiss and love. I hate leaving our cats, but love them up when I am home with them. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

