Congraduation!

It’s hard to believe that it has been over a month since I’ve posted last. But life comes first, and boy, have I been busy!

I participated in my first dance recital as a dance teacher.

As much as I love to be on stage, I truly took pride in supporting my dancers from behind the scenes. I taught three classes this year, who performed in a total of four dances – my little Kindergarteners did a great job with Mambo Italiano, and my middle schoolers performed a rockin’ tap called Stomp to My Beat, a chain tap in which their ankles are connected by metal chains, and a beautiful, heart-warming father-daughter dance.

A few days before the recital, my mom flew in from Australia with her fiance.

They were here not only for my recital, but for my college graduation. That’s right, as of yesterday, I have a Bachelor’s of Science in Education.

I graduated from Alverno College in Milwaukee, Wisconsin with honors.

I loved celebrating this accomplishment with many special people in my life.

And especially this little guy.

Our little Reggie is doing great. He is the best graduation gift I could have ever asked for. (Yes, he came a little early, but he was a funded by my mom and stepdad … thanks guys!)

We did it!

Even though I graduated, I will still be at my internship until the school year ends on June 8th. What comes next? Nobody knows. I have a few job interviews lined up, but teaching jobs aren’t the easiest to come by right now.

Until then, I will just keep loving life, because life is good.

I do, however, need a serious re-evaluation of my healthy living habits. Working out has kind of fallen by the waste side in lieu of my busy schedule lately, and I haven’t been making the smartest choices in regards to my eating. I’ve gained weight, and I’m not happy about it.

Suddenly, I’m a “grown up” out in the “real world,” and I need to start looking out for myself. I held myself to high standards throughout my schooling, and I need to do the same when it comes to my own health and well-being.

I deserve it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Congraduation!

  1. Beth Miszewski says:

    As your mom, I cannot help but be proud. You are absolutely awesome. Great job, remember, you can accomplish anything you set your mind to!!!!

  2. Pingback: Do What You Love | Katie for Life

Leave a Reply

