2012 Goals Check-In

Back at the end of December, I decided to establish a list of goals for the new year. Like I said in my original post, these weren’t necessarily resolutions that I vowed to dive into immediately on January 1st, but rather objectives that I wanted to achieve by the end of the year.

Well, now that we are almost officially halfway through the year, I thought it would be a good idea to check in on these goals. After first glancing through the list, I initially felt like a little bit of failure. But then I realized that I should give myself some credit for the progress that I did make and use this as an opportunity to remind myself of my goals and brainstorm ways that I can be more successful in meeting them.

Fitness Goals:

Workout at least four times per week. I was totally rocking this goal at the beginning of the year. For a solid two months, I worked out very regularly. I started to fall off of the bandwagon in March when we got our puppy, Reggie. Now that I am on summer break, I want to make a serious effort to return to this goal over the next two months. Hopefully, if I can get into the habit, it will continue once my hectic life as a first year teacher begins. I also know that reinstating as a Jazzercise instructor will help my cause. I will be teaching at least one class per week, if not more eventually, and you can’t skip the workout when you are in charge. I do have to acknowledge that I will be putting my gym membership on hold indefinitely starting in August, because I will no longer be working in the Kids’ Club at my gym and receiving a free membership. I will have to get creative on the days that I can’t make it to a Jazzercise class and find ways to workout at home.


Make sure to incorporate both cardio and strength training into my fitness routine. I actually feel like I am making pretty good progress on this goal. When I do workout, I try to make sure that I incorporate some strength training into my routine. I’m also confident that Jazzercise will help with this, because we incorporate strength training for the arms, abs, glutes, and more in every class!

Health Goals:

Drink 64 ounces of water daily. Although I’m not sure that I’m drinking 64 ounces daily, I do know that my H2o consumption has definitely increased. I bought myself a Cambelbak Groove waterbottle for Valentine’s Day, and I am constantly filling it up. I have found that sucking down water through the Cambelbak straw encourages me to drink more water than simply swigging from a traditional bottle.


Work on establishing an 80-20 approach to healthy eating. Still struggling here, people. Definitely struggling. I always stock the house will healthy food, but I struggle a lot with snacking unnecessarily between meals and making unhealthy choices when eating out. It’s a constant battle, and I will keep fighting. I’m currently working on doing some research about suggesting “diets” for women with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. I often find that some of my carb and sugar cravings are out of control and have begun wondering if the hormonal imbalances and other side effects of PCOS are contributing factors. I would definitely be willing to work on making some specific changes to my diet and lifestyle if it would help.

Reach a healthy weight for my height. Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure that I have gained weight since the beginning of the year. I’m not stepping on the scale right now, because I fear that it will be more discouraging that motivating, but I can tell by the fit of some clothes. Right now, my biggest goal is to continue working on my eating habits, because I know that you can’t out exercise a bad diet. I still need and want to lose weight, but I want to do it the healthy way, not the crash diet way.

Lifestyle Goals:

Make myself my number one priority. Like exercising, I was doing fairly well with this until we got Reggie. Now, I find myself skipping “me time” in lieu of snuggling with my adorable puppy. However, I’m getting over the “honeymoon phase” if you will and learning that the doggy can use some “me time” too – even if his cries when I lock him in his “condo” make my heart break.

I eat doggy ice cream, and I don’t gain weight …


Avoid negative self-talk. We’ll call this a work in progress. Until I stabilize my eating habits, regulate my work out routine, and shed a few of the pounds I’ve gained back, I won’t be completely happy with myself. I wish I could be one of those girls who finds their curves sexy and is super-confident regardless of their weight … but I’m not.
Stop biting my nails. Grrr. I totally thought I owned this one when I went over a month without biting, thanks to the fabulos shellac manicure. But then I realized that I could bite the shellac off … and then my nails. If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.

Career Goals:

Rock my teaching internship. DONE.
Graduate college. DONE.
Procure my first “real” teaching job. DONE! I wish I was as committed to healthy living as I am to achieving my professional goals. Sigh. I guess you can’t be good at everything.

So, there you have it. If I had to put my biggest goals that remain for the rest of the year in a nutshell, they would look like this:

  1. Keep working on mastering that 80/20 approach to healthy eating.
  2. Get your butt off the couch/away from your boyfriend and puppy/home from work and workout!
  3. As these two fall in place, rejoice in the fact that your clothes are fitting better and your belly is getting smaller.
  4. Stop thinking about how fat you think you are, and give yourself a compliment every now and then.
  5. Give your all to your first year of teaching!

How are your goals these year panning out? 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

