Dealing with Setbacks

Sunday is my weigh-in day.

I showed a gain on the scale this morning. Granted it was only 0.6 pounds, but it was still a gain.

However, it wasn’t a surprise to me. My eating was subpar this week. It’s not like I was eating burgers, fries, and frozen custard, but I surpassed my calorie target every day. I did far too much mindless snacking, and as I posted on Friday, I felt myself slipping back into old habits.

I still worked out 5 out of 6 days, but this is just evidence that losing weight is really 80% what you eat and 20% exercise. I already knew this, because back when I was really overweight, I gained the weight while still working out regularly.

I keep telling myself not to freak out. It’s 0.6 pounds, and I can bounce back easily. But I am still kicking myself for losing momentum. I was doing really well and settling into a routine of healthy living, and then I let myself slip. I don’t want to fall back into the Katie that I have been for the past two years.

04bf179539977958e5b16e93591574ef

So I won’t. The difference is that I am acknowledging that this week I lost my “do” attitude and instead was just “trying”, but this doesn’t have to continue. I am setting myself up for success this week. As if my ultimate goal of getting to a healthy weight and feeling confident in my own skin isn’t enough, I have a short trip to Florida coming up at the end of the month, and I’d love to lose a few more pounds before then. Here’s the eating plan for this week:

Breakfasts: Greek Yogurt with a piece of fruit
Morning Snack: Apple
Lunch: Flat Out Wrap with Turkey or Roast Beef and Veggies or Salad with Chicken and Veggies
Afternoon Snack: Larabar or Lunda Fiber Bar
Pre-Workout Snack: Banana
Dinner: TBD
Post-Dinner Treat: Vitamuffin Top

Repetition doesn’t bother me, because it helps me to stay on track, and I will get a little variety with my dinners. Plus, my regular workouts will continue:

Sunday: Teach Jazzercise and Body Scuplting
Monday: Teach Dance
Tuesday: 30 Min of Treadmill Intervals and 20 Min Strength Circuits
Wednesday: Jazzercise Class
Thursday: 30 Min of Treadmill Intervals and 20 Min Strength Circuits
Friday: 30 Min of Treadmill Intervals and 20 Min Strength Circuits
Saturday: Teach Jazzercise
Sunday: Teach Jazzercise and Body Scuplting

I also pledge to make sure to have a tall glass of water with lemon in the morning to get things moving and avoid all unnecessary snacking (grabbing candy from the stash for my students, eating in front of the TV, and heading into the lounge for “payday treats” on Friday).

a0cd41e6e1bb829a1c0bb7737f29e8f6

How do you get back on track after a setback?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

