Highs and Lows

High: According to my weigh-in on Sunday, I lost 3.4 pounds last week, bringing my total weight loss since January 6th to 16.8 pounds.

Low: Many of my clothes are now too big (okay this is a high too), but most of my “skinny” clothes are still too small, so I’m sort of hanging in the midst of ill-fitting clothing.

High: I had a meeting yesterday morning (in place of working with my students), so I got to catch an extra half hour of sleep in the morning.

Low: On my way to the car, I slipped on a patch of ice in the driveway, injuring my elbow, back, neck, and head and breaking my work-issued laptop that was in my backpack.

High: Not only have I been keeping up my regular workouts, I’ve realized that I actually look forwarding to working out not (Jazzercise or not). I can’t wait to hit up the gym or teach a Jazzercise class after a long day of work or in the mornings on the weekend.

Low: I haven’t been able to work out for the past two days due to my spill. (I actually had to take a day and half off of work because I am in so much pain. And  I am going stir-crazy. I think I have formed a healthy addiction to exercise.

High: I decided that since I have dedicated myself to reaching a healthy weight, I should start to take care of my overall appearance more (i.e. eyebrow wax, keeping up with my highlights, maybe a manicure …)

Low: I had to cancel my much-anticiapted hair appointment today. Luckily, I could reschedule for Sunday to get it done before …

High: I am traveling to Florida next Thursday to speak at a conference and have a mini-vacation with my boyfriend.

Low: As a teacher, taking days off of work is more stressful than actually being there. There are sub plans to write and other things to get in order and often I don’t know exactly where we will be until the day before.

High: Overall, I have a lot to be thankful for and happy about lately. I am committed to my own health and fitness, I have the most supportive boyfriend ever, an adorable puppy, and an exciting trip to look forward to.

Low: No matter how hard I try, I just don’t love my job. I love the kids and am really dedicated to being a good teacher, but I don’t enjoy the environment that I am working in and am not sure that the teaching profession is for me. There is so much more involved in being a teacher than actually teaching, and the politics, policies, and administration just make it less than desirable for me. However, I am trying really hard not to let myself get down about it, and instead start to explore other options that might work for me.

One of my favorite quotes is by Henry David Thoreau:

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you’ve imagined.”

I’ll keep working on it until I get there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Highs and Lows

  1. Pingback: Out of Hiding | Katie for Life

Leave a Reply

