Snow Day

I woke up to an unexpected snow day today. I wanted so badly to be excited, but I couldn’t help but feel frustrated at first. I was supposed to have my annual observation by my principal today, and I had already spent lots of time on my lesson plans and having my pre-observation meeting with him. Now, I will have to start the process all over again. Plus, I am on my way to Orlando, FL tomorrow to speak at a conference (and enjoy a little weekend getaway with brad), and my sub plans were already written. Since we didn’t have school today, the plans must change.

75525_10200759236768036_1342203637_n

However, after accepting that these things were out of my control, I made my most of my snow day. I guess God just wants me to work on being more flexible, right? I am really working on actively adjusting my outlook and attitude on life lately. While it’s true that I’m not the happiest at my job, I don’t want to be an unhappy complainer all the time. Life is too short.

So, I seized the day and got lots of housework done that I normally put off. I cleaned the bathroom, did a few loads of laundry, and washed all of the sheets and towels. Even more exciting, I did a little closet reorganizing and cleaning. This weekend, I asked Brad to bring up my “extra clothes” from the basement (AKA clothes that I put away for awhile because there was no way that I was squeezing into them and they were taking up precious closet space). And guess what? Many of them fit and I anticipate that most of them will in the next month or so if I stay on top of my game. So I swapped some of my “fat clothes” that are obviously too big for me out of the closet and replaced them with my smaller duds. How’s that for some motivation?

Then, I headed to the gym for an intense snow day workout, since the Jazzercise class I was supposed to teach was cancelled. Reluctantly (but excitedly), I signed up for a 7K on March 16th. I’ve only run one 5K before (last St. Patrick’s Day), so I am definitely nervous. However, I really want to challenge myself and up the ante in regards to fitness, so I figured, why not? A couple of girls at Jazzercise are doing it, and I’ll be joining them.

So, I’m working on increasing my running endurance. Normally, when I run on the treadmill, I do intervals, because I know they are a good workout and they help to eliminate boredom. However, lately I’ve been trying to run longer distances. Key word is trying, because I get so bored! I started with a 5-minute walking warm up (4.0mph) and ran two 1-mile repeats at 6.0 (a 10-minute mile) with an incline of 1.0. Then, I did a third mile with one minute running and 30 seconds walking. I cooled down by walking until I hit 4 miles.

549411_4293707953179_2063079492_n

I’d love to be able to run 4.3 miles (about a 7K) in one short, but 1) my body is not ready for that yet and 2) I get so antsy on the treadmill. Does anyone have any advice for how to get better at this?

65992_4293703673072_1564269524_n

Pooped!

After I hopped off the treadmill, I threw together a little strength circuit that looked like this:

Circuit #1:
Weighted jumping jacks (3 pounds)
Push ups (10 on toes and the rest on knees)
Kettlebell swings (20 pound kettlebell)
Plank jacks
Curl and press standing on the bosu

Circuit #2:
Box jumps
Full sit-ups
Step-ups
Weighted oblique leans (10 pounds)
Plank

I do each exercise for 45 seconds then break for 15 seconds before the next move. I repeated each circuit twice. Most of my strength training lately is in this format, because that is how my personal training was organized and I really enjoyed it. It works for me!

63233_4293707553169_922989336_n

How are your workouts going this week?

I’ll be back next week with a little report on Florida!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

