Tuesday Thoughts

I signed up for a half-marathon today! Holy guacamole, I am so excited and terrified at the same time. It is not until the end of September, so I will have the summer to train. 

Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 8.15.18 PM

In other news, I learned this weekend that I can still be human, even when trying to lose weight. On Saturday night,  I enjoyed a little date night with Brad. We went out to dinner at a local restaurant. It’s not a chain, so I couldn’t hound MyFitnessPal ahead of time and figure out which entree had the least calories. I simply ordered my favorite sandwich and side salad and enjoyed a glass of wine.

Afterwards, we went to the bar where we met over two-and-a-half years ago to celebrate its last night in business. I had a few (too many) drinks and didn’t allow myself to worry about the extra calories. It was a night to celebrate the end of an era, and I didn’t want an obsession with weight loss to ruin my evening.

The next morning when I stepped on the scale for my weekly weigh-in, I was stuck at the same weight as last week. Bummer, because I am SO close hitting 30 pounds lost and entering the next lowest group of 10’s if you know what I mean. However, I was happy to not see a gain.

Well, scratch that feeling when I stepped on the scale the following day and saw an almost 4 pound gain! (I know that daily weigh-ins can cause obsession in some people, but I’ve found that it’s healthy for me right now, because it helps me to stay on track. I only “officially” count my weigh-ins on Sundays, though.) I tried not to freak out, I really did, but I couldn’t help but be disappointed. I knew that I was probably just holding onto a lot of water weight after dehydrating myself from a night of indulging. I vowed not to do anything drastic, but just to make sure to drink lots of water and focus on clean eating for the rest of week. So far, so good.

This time around (as compared to my previous attempts at weight loss), I am working on not only making permanent changes to my eating and exercise habits, but also my mindset. I want the lifestyle that I am adopting to be sustainable in the long run, and I know that it can’t be if I am overly obsessive and don’t allow myself to live in the moment. I won’t lie and say that this is easy for me, because frankly, it’s not. I am an obsessive human being by nature, but I know that it’s not always healthy. I continue to be a work in progress – in both mind and body – and I am need to be okay with that right now.

How do you deal with the mindset part of weight loss/living a healthy lifestyle?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

