Feeling Yucky

Today, my fellow sixth grade teachers and I took our 140 sixth graders on a field trip to a Milwaukee Brewers game. It was Weather Day for students, so local meteorologists provided some pre-game activities.

48016_4510482532408_1950052511_n

Overall, it was a good time. (Field trips were so exciting as a kid, but BOY are they a lot of work as a teacher.)

Knowing that we would be at Miller Park all day, I brought a lot of snacks with me to avoid relying on unhealthy stadium food. I had a Greek yogurt on the bus for breakfast and some pretzel crisps and an apple for a morning snack.

However, I gave into temptation and ended up eating the following, as well:

  • 2 hot dogs with ketchup and relish (we received coupons for $1 hot dogs!)
  • 3 ounces of cinnamon and sugar roasted almonds (I shared the large 6 oz portion with a fellow teacher)
  • a HUGE cup of mint chocolate chip ice cream (I could have easily been satisfied with 1/3 of the portion)

I really wanted to live in the moment and enjoy myself. And I was truly okay with it at the moment. But by the end of the afternoon, I was feeling overly full and lethargic. It is truly amazing how much food truly fuels our bodies.

The field trip exhausted me, and I’m sure that my food choices didn’t help. I dragged myself to the gym after work, but was barely able to muster up the energy for 20 minutes on the stationary bike and 10 minutes on the elliptical. I was getting a major side ache, in addition to the headache that I had developed on the bus ride home.

Side note: It doesn’t help that I am having a bizarre pain along the outside of my right calf, so I am trying to rest so it heals. Any insights, anyone?

Long story short, the old me never really realized how much the type of food that I chose to eat really affects how my body functions. A few years ago, I wouldn’t have batted an eye about my food choices today. And even when I embarked on my weight loss journey in May 2010, I really had no conception of the difference between spending 100 calories on fresh fruit and veggies versus a 100-calorie pack of something processed. I have learned a lot.

I can’t dwell on days like today. I want to enjoy my life, and they will happen. But I do want to remind myself how UNenjoyable it is to feel the way that I am feeling right now. Cheers to lots of fruits and veggies tomorrow!

Have you ever made note of the way your body feels after having a particularly healthy or unhealthy day?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

