#takecontrol

Lately, it feels as though my life is spiraling out of control. I feel like I should be so happy, because I have so many great things going for me, including …

1. I have a wonderful support system, including my boyfriends, friends, family, etc.
2. I am finishing up my first year at a full-time job in the field that I went to school for.
3. I am maintaining a 35-pound weight loss and am at the lowest weight that I can remember since … middle school?
4. I live a good life, and there are so many people with struggles so much worse than my own.

c218ed4eff3706aee413ff7a8ce144f2

Still, I can’t help but feel overwhelmed by the negative sometimes. Especially lately. There are lots of things going on, that, combined, have really left me in a bad place right now. As a result of this stress, I am exhausted constantly. It’s really starting to take a toll. I haven’t had the energy to workout everyday, and I am finding myself reverting to some not-so-healthy eating habits. Luckily, I haven’t really gained any weight, but I also haven’t lost in several weeks now. And I really want to finish the job, before I become complacent and settle into maintenance mode.

Plus, I don’t want maintenance mode to include binging on sweets and Doritos when I am having a bad day week month. Even when I am done losing weight, I want my life to revolve around healthy habits, because I have found that I feel so much better when I am properly fueled and regularly moving my body.

What is all boils down to is self-control. I am truly lacking in that department. When there are bagels in the lounge at work, I can’t stay away. And most of the time, I can’t even stop at one. When there are chips in my pantry, I eat them. And never just one serving. When there is frozen yogurt on the way home, I stop to get some. And my cup runneth over. You get the idea.

I have always wanted to be one of those people who is able to stop eating when they are not hungry, and not continue to gorge myself simply because the food is there. But that’s not me. Can I train myself to eat more intuitively? Only time will tell. Right now, inspired by another blogger, I am pledging to try a One Week No Cheat challenge. This means that when I am tempted to stray from my planned healthy eats, I will remind myself that I can be strong and #takecontrol. I am hoping that taking steps to take control of this area of my life will inspire me to continue to make changes to achieve happiness.

5597f985b11fc80493e20feab323efa6

Life is too short.

P.S. In other news, I ran a 5K yesterday in 25:52! I plan to write about it soon when I am in a better place. Thanks for understanding!

309906_4684099152715_2072688284_n

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #takecontrol

  1. Rebecca says:

    Hi Katie, I’m a random reader, but I just wanted to say that I definitely understand where you’re coming from. I’ve had ups and downs in my weight loss and working out journey and am currently on a really low down (starting to pull myself back up…) It’s inspiring to see how far you’ve come and how great you look (and how fast you’re running!) I know sometimes it can be really hard to get yourself in a good place mentally with all of this, so I just wanted to say keep going and doing amazing because you really are inspiring to me!

  2. katieforlife says:

    Rebecca, I’m so sorry that I didn’t reply to your comment sooner! I want you to know how much I appreciate you taking the time to stop by, read my blog, and comment. It’s really nice to know that I have some virtual support out there. Thanks, and I hope things are looking up for you as well! It’s also know that I am inspiring even one person, because that makes sharing my life so worth it. Thank you!

  3. Pingback: Regressing | Katie for Life

  4. Katie! You are so inspiring, sweet sister! Taking control is so much easier said than done. Life does often feel out of control and sometimes even unplanned even when we seemingly are in a great place (supportive boyfriend/family, great job, etc). It is okay to feel out of control. We have all been there. Acknowledging it is so mature and helpful in getting back on track. You can do this. Don’t let a weekend of desserts or one missed workouts define you. We are all in this together. I know I feel this way more times a week than I care to count. CONGRATS on a wicked fast 5k time. So many people (especially me) would move heaven and earth to have a 25 minute 5k time. You are amazing girl! Feel free to email me anytime. Have a great day!

  5. Pingback: My First Half | Katie for Life

Leave a Reply

