Regressing

Long post, no pictures. Sorry. 😦

I am afraid that I am regressing. Ok, I think it’s safe to say that I am not afraid. I am regressing. This weekend, in desserts alone, I had:

A DQ chocolate-dipped waffle cone with vanilla ice cream
A slice of cheesecake
A slice of poundcake
A slice of cake
TWO slices of chocolate cream pie

This, my friends, is not a typo. And I paying for it. Probably on the scale, although I haven’t hopped on in a couple of days. But my stomach is aching. Quite literally.

I am not going to write a long, drawn-out post about how I lack self-control, because well, didn’t I just write one of those? But the fact of the matter is that, somewhere along the line, I lost my motivation – the drive that led me to drop 35 pounds in less than three months.

I know this story all too well. Three years ago, when I lost over 65 pounds, my motivation seemed to disappear when I was about 10 pounds from my (then) goal-weight. Now, here I am, 15 pounds from the tentative goal weight that I have set for myself, motivation waining. And I don’t want history to repeat itself.

I am just frustrated, because I want to badly to be the epitome of healthiness. I know that I feel and look better when I make healthy choices. And I want to set a positive example for others who are looking to make healthy changes. In fact, I haven’t shared this before, but my ultimate career goal (someday) is to work with overweight kids or adults and help them to get healthy. But I can’t do this until I learn to battle my own demons.

Two long-term goals that I have in regards to this are to:
1. Learn how to say no to unhealthy foods at parties, in the staff lounge at work, at family members’ homes, etc. It is one thing to have the occasional treat, but I absolutely don’t know how to exhibit moderation.
2. Learn how to stop eating when I am reasonably full. I need to determine how to honor to my body’s satiety signals, rather than my emotional eating habits.

However, in order to eventually reach these long-term goals, I must set some short-term ones. And stick to them. While I don’t want to overwhelm myself by setting an extreme amount of goals, I also know that I need structure and lots of it to stay motivated. I am sort of an all-or-nothing type of gal, which has it’s benefits and drawbacks. My goals this week include:

1. Drinking tons and tons of water. Not only will this help me to stay hydrated, but it can also when I am tempted to snack unnecessarily.
2. Sticking to the foods that I’ve planned for the day. This means NO extra indulgences. One indulgence often leads to many more, and this week, I need to focus on getting back on track.
3. Limited dairy, gluten, and processed foods. I have been having serious stomaches lately, and I truly don’t know if this has to do with overall “crappy” eating or sensitivities to certain foods. I’ve never considered food sensitivities before and I don’t think I am ready to completely cut out anything, but I’ve heard that limiting sugar, gluten, and dairy can help with bloating and contribute to feeling healthy.

With that said, I plan to check in more frequently this week … as much as time allows, because blogging helps me to stay accountable, and I need that right now more than ever. Well, my tummy is not happy and another episode of House Hunters (I’m addicted!) is calling my name.

How do you keep yourself motivated to life a healthy lifestyle? I would love to hear your tips! Let’s support one another. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Regressing

  1. Sherri says:

    Keeping motivation is so hard. I’ve been slipping this month. Big time. I try to plan meals but it doesn’t always work for me. But over the last few days I’ve started not just planning but putting the food I plan to eat into myfitnesspal ahead of time. I’m less likely to change a dinner/lunch plan if it’s already in my diary. And it helps me ensure I’m getting the right nutrients. The hard part is planning my snacks. I’m not so good at that and that’s where I’m most vulnerable. But I find if I plan it out, I’m less likely to deviate, particularly because I know ahead of time that I will have met my calorie/nutrient goal of the day if I stick to it.

    • katieforlife says:

      That is a great idea, and I have actually used it before! I have become way to lax with MyFitnessPal. I was using it religiously for awhile and then I let it slip by the wayside. I need to get on top of it again! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

