My Body’s Holy

It’s no secret that I have been having a rough couple months in terms of staying on track with healthy living. This past week was no different — a celebratory last week of school free for all: catered lunch from the PTO, a breakfast extravaganza with my homeroom kids, and another catered lunch on the last day of school … and that’s just to name a few.

The average person might just exercise moderation and portion control, but for some reason, I just can’t get a grasp on that.

As of late, I’m generally a daily weigher (I’ve found that it’s the best way to keep me accountable), but I’ve avoided the scale for about a week or so, because I know that I won’t like what I see … or at least I think so.

Although I sometimes often feel out of control with my eating, I have kept up with regular work outs 5-6 days per week. I have to admit that returning to teaching Jazzercise almost a year ago was one of the best decisions ever. I truly love Jazzercise and want to do it almost everyday, so I never have to force myself to workout. (I could definitely add some variety to my workouts and should start training for my fall half-marathon one of these days, but that’s a subject for another post.)

Today, I was learning some new routines for my class. One of them is choreographed to a song called “Break the Chain,” the anthem for the One Billion Rising Campaign aimed at ending violence against women and girls. When I first danced to the song a few weeks ago in another instructor’s class, some of the lyrics really resonated with me:

This is my body. My body’s holy. No more excuses. No more abuses. We are mothers. We are teachers. We are beautiful, beautiful creatures.

Although the context for me is different than originally intended in the song, it gives me goosebumps. I need to stop making excuses for bingeing and over-eating and start to give my body the respect it deserves. It’s about more than being skinny or even having a flat stomach; it’s about self-respect and health. I am a beautiful creature, not a human garbage can.

Typing it is one thing; believing it is another. I’m working on it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Body’s Holy

  1. Sometimes life happens, friend! Parties, celebrations, and dinners are going to happen but just because we indulge doesn’t make us any less of a person or any less healthier (even though it feels like it). Maintaining a positive attitude and not letting food issues defeat us is vital to beating the cycle! Just remember that our body IS holy and that we are worth celebrating!!

  2. katieforlife says:

    Thanks! You are so right. I am working on my positive mindset all the time … I really am. 🙂

Leave a comment