Do or Do Not

Today, as I was browsing Pinterest, I came across a page with some “motivational quotes for weight loss.” One of them really resonated with me:

“Do or do not. There is no try.”

For the past two years, I have been trying to lose weight. And I use the word trying very loosely. I think more than lose, I’ve been trying not to gain. However, my heart wasn’t in it. And no matter how hard I “tried,” it wasn’t working.

Because for me, trying is not enough. Three weeks ago, I decided it was time for doing. For the past three weeks, I have tracked my food daily. I’ve worked out at least four times a week. I have not binged once.

I didn’t try to track my food. Or try to work out. Or try to avoid bingeing. I did it.

60657926201264336_udp4Pq1g_c

For over two years, I have claimed to be trying, but in reality, I was afraid to step out of my comfort zone. For me, food is comfort. Although I live a good life (a really good life), everything is not always wine and roses. And I’ve always known how to self-medicate with food.

But for the past three weeks, I’ve been making magic. And guess what? Things still aren’t all wine and roses, but I finally feel in control of one thing – my health. And I’m learning to face the things that aren’t making me happy, rather than mask them with fast food and ice cream.

58757970108021797_WLXy63RR_c-3

So, while it’s true that every accomplishment starts with a decision to try, accomplishments happen when you take action – when you “do.”

Can you relate? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do or Do Not

  1. Sherri says:

    I can definitely relate to this post. I also really needed to read it this morning. I feel like I was in the “Do” phase for a while and suddenly I switched to “try” without even realizing it. This is a good reminder and a good quote to carry with me.

  2. Pingback: Dealing with Setbacks | Katie for Life

Leave a comment